The content on this site is for sampling purposes only and is ultimately intended to support the artists by increasing their fan base. If you enjoy the music please purchase the album online or at your nearest record store; don't forget to spread the word!

Blog Archive

Tuesday, August 25, 2009

Maps - Turning The Mind



01. Turning The Mind 5:58
02. I Dream Of Crystal 5:24
03. Let Go Of The Fear 4:48
04. Valium In The Sunshine 4:23
05. Papercuts 4:02
06. Love Will Come 5:15
07. Everything Is Shattering 5:52
08. Nothing 5:02
09. The Note (These Voices) 4:07
10. Chemeleon 4:47
11. Die Happy Die Smiling 5:23
12. Without You 3:58

Genre: Alternative/Electronica/Indie
Website: Myspace |
Release Date: 2009-09-28
Label: Mute

On Maps’ Mercury nominated debut album, bedroom recording prodigy James Chapman sounded like an especially blissed-out shoegazer (if such a paradox is possible), layering gauzy guitars over organs, synths and unhurried drums, and drawing inevitable Spacemen 3 and Low comparisons as a result. While Chapmans’ almost somnolent vocals ensure that follow-up Turning the Mind is instantly recognizable to fans, it’s a creative departure for the Northampton musician in other ways. That gentle guitar fuzz that coated We Can Create has been culled and replaced with stark pianos and 80s synth-pop stylings, and the lyrical focus has shifted inwards to extreme emotions, chemical imbalance and even aggression: “I will hit you hard as I can,” Chapman warns on I Dream of Crystal. Musically, Maps’ new sheen is frequently too glaring, but when it combines with an uplifting sequence – as on Love Will Come or Everything is Shattering – the results are still quite special.


Post a Comment


If you would like to feature your band or music on earitnow or have questions or comments about existing content, or show review requests for Chicago please contact me via email michael@earitnow.com~ many thanks and enjoy your stay!

For Nashville show review requests please contact liz@earitnow.com


Subscribe mp3 blogs